Walking on Hartford’s Ancient Burying Ground

I’ve always loved old cemeteries, and Hartford has one of the most fascinating burial sites I had visited.

Panoramic view of the cemetery

Hartford’s ancient burying ground is the oldest historic site in the city, and the only one surviving from the 1600s. It’s open to the public and one could stroll and wonder the history and art in this cemetery.

Marker by the entrance

This burying ground was the resting place of Hartford’s residence from the first settlers in 1640 to the 1800s. But because gravestones were expensive, as many as 90 percent of those buried here were unmarked.

Walking along the graveled path, I admired the artwork and the stories etched on the stones. One headstone belonged to a Thomas Langrell which told of his sad demise:

“Drowned in the glory of his years

And left his mate

to drown herself in tears”

Gravestone of Thomas Langrell who died June 15, 1757 at the age of 20. The epitaph indicates that he drowned and left a wife

There were a few monuments in the burying grounds, most prominent was the obelisk structure called the Founders Monument. And there were a few peculiar table like structures which was called a tablestone – the most expensive type of gravestone at that time. Among this unique markers I found the tablestone of the Reverend Thomas Hooker, considered as Hartford’s founding father. Usually those who could afford to make tablestones were people of prominence and wealth. And I found that a few of these had more than one name etched on it.

The Founders Monument

Though not everyone from Hartford was buried here – or the cemetery should have been larger – anyone could be buried here, even African Americans. A black headstone was erected in 1998 by the efforts of Harford’s schoolchildren to honor the memories of those African Americans interred in this site.

A memorial for the African Americans interred in this burial grounds. Behind this stone we could see tombs, gravestones, and tablestones.

As a small adventure, I tried to find the oldest gravestone in the cemetery, as printed in the brochure. I went back and forth trying to find the grave of Timothy Stanly, who was buried in 1648. Enduring the cold temperature and wind I kept searching, analyzing my location and the grave, going through the headstones pointed out by the map as if they were clues in a treasure hunt, until I found it at the midst of other headstones in the North-East section of the ground. A marker was placed in front of it, a marker I had noticed numerous times as I tried to find Stanly’s gravestone!

Gravestone of Timothy Stanly, the oldest grave. In front of it is a T-shaped marker

I left the burial grounds appreciating Hartford’s rich history and art and their efforts to conserve these in memory of those who had passed and for the next generations. Though I could not compare any like it in the Philippines, my visit inspired me to search for these kinds of historical gems back home.

Leave a comment